This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Zorin 6 - When ?

NFFCReds1

Thu Nov 17, 2011 5:30:45 pm

My long term preference, Linux-wise, has been Mint, but I love the semi Win7 'feel' and polish of Zorin, but without the hassles of the Redmond giant. I have been using Zorin for a few months as my main OS. However, I am put off by the lack of community and the lack of an upgrade following the base Ubuntu 11.10 update. With Mint I know that will be updated 4-8 weeks after an Ubuntu update. I'd like to know if there's any such cycle for Zorin.

Mint has relative longevity on its side. Is Zorin a long term project or just Mr Zorin's plaything for now. If I could be reassured I'd make the switch to Zorin permanently.

Kind Regards,

Barrie.
Torquay,
England.

Wolfman

Thu Nov 17, 2011 6:40:41 pm

Hi Barrie,

who knows, I was helping out on a website as mod and tried to login today but the site is no longer active, I more or less knew it was coming and thought it would run for a while.

You must not forget that a lot of people do things (like ZorinOS) as a hobby, I would say that it will around for sometime to come, it has a small user base with friendly helpers at hand!!.

So stick around mate, you are more than welcome!!.

Regards Wolfman:)

VanR

Fri Nov 18, 2011 4:28:11 am

I'm also wondering if there is an ETA on the next Zorin offering. It's been awful quiet. Does anyone have any word on Zorin OS 6?

craig10x

Sat Nov 19, 2011 3:15:51 pm

Yes they did...but they don't talk about what approach they are going to take in the release of Zorin 6....Are they going the linux mint route (gnome 3 shell with mintified extensions) or some other approach? Why do they keep this community "in the dark" ?