This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Newbie needs help on how to install a program

discipulus

Sun Dec 21, 2014 3:26:07 pm

Hi all, apologies in advance but I'm a complete Linux novice and need some help on how to install some software. I'm running Zorin OS 9 Lite on a slow netbook. I want to install a game called Go (I have it on windows but thought it would be good to see how it looks in the netbook but also for my education in how to install programs in Zorin.)

As I understand from http://www.pandanet.co.jp/English/glgo/ it runs on Linux and needs the GnuGo engine http://www.techsupportalert.com/best-free-computer-go-board-game.htm#PANDA-glGo

I'd be happy with any other Go program if easier or recommended.

I can download zip files but really need some guidance on what to do next! If anyone could spare the time to step out what's required or point me to a simple to understand guide that would be wonderful.

thanks for reading

Simonides.

Swarfendor437

Sat Dec 27, 2014 3:53:54 pm

Click on the Download link and select the package in the highlighted area of the following image:

47.jpg

and install with 'Software Center/re' by right-clicking downloaded package and select 'Open with ...' :D

discipulus

Mon Dec 29, 2014 10:43:39 pm

Thanks - I think I may have installed it and now have a "GoPanda2" icon on the desktop but nothing happens when I single or double click it. How should I run it please?

thanks again

S

Swarfendor437

Tue Dec 30, 2014 8:29:58 am

Right-click the icon and select the 'Permissions' tab and then make sure the check box is ticked against 'Run as program'

discipulus

Tue Dec 30, 2014 11:31:04 am

Swarfendor437 wrote:Right-click the icon and select the 'Permissions' tab and then make sure the check box is ticked against 'Run as program'