This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Installation to totally wiped drive

rm31859

Wed Aug 05, 2015 3:33:17 pm

Hello all, I am new to the forum and to Zorin so please bear with me. I have a Dell XPS M140 laptop that the Hard drive failed on last week and I was unable to clone the drive before it died. I purchased a good used Fujitsu MHV2060AH 60Gb IDE hard drive and used AOMEI partition assistant to do a 7 pass wipe on it. I want to install Zorin 9 as the new O/S but I have never done anything like this before. I am just your average, everyday, middle aged computer user who happens to know some about hardware but not software or programming. Is there anything that I have to do to the hard drive before I attempt to install the new O/S? Thanks

Swarfendor437

Wed Aug 05, 2015 4:13:54 pm

Hi, I would prepare your partitions from running the live disk (but you will need to use and format them for the same purpose at point of install if you are dealing with a 'blank drive' but should work if you boot from USB or DVD first.
Have you burned the .iso to a DVD or have you tried creating a bootable USB? :D

Wolfman

Thu Aug 06, 2015 6:15:32 am

Hi,

boot the Zorin live Cd and use Gparted to create your partitions. Zorin Menu > System Tools > Administration > Gparted:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=2601

Once you have created your partitions, use the "Something Else" install method if you wish:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=4848&p=22956#p22956

rm31859

Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:47:09 am