This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

first impressions - feeling cheated

djs514

Sun Jul 08, 2012 2:04:15 am

Hi,
So last weekend my SSD in my ThinkPad failed, and the old HDD with WIn7 wouldn't boot, nothing I could do to get it to boot. So I hemmed an hawed all week and looked at a few different Linux distros. based on what I read and saw, I picked Zorin. It was billed as the most Windows 7 like distro available, wasn't a fan of the default to Chrome, but that's simple enough to switch to Firefox, or so I thought. I'm no stranger to a CLI or Linux, I used a couple distros briefly in College 10 years ago and I'm an experienced PC technician, I know Windows well, and have some limited Mac experience. I'm not a fan of Macs though. I learned DOS when I was 2 or 3 years old. I simply like Windows and while I have tried Linux before (Xandros, Ubuntu, SUSE), nothing felt right. So it has been at least 4 years since I have tried Linux (save for my Nokia N9 running MeeGo Harmattan, ok it's really Maemo I know, but it works great).