This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

A newby's daft questions

Bootneck02

Sat Aug 02, 2014 11:01:09 pm

:o I am a Windows 7 64 bit user. :D I have ordered Zorin 9 64 bit and as a complete novice to any other OS other than Windows what advice have you got for me :shock: . How much Hard drive should I use for Zorin the C drive has a total of 1.81TB of which Windows has 227 GB. :? I would want to send my music to the player on Zorin about 178 MB how will I be able to do that, I have saved my music to a external drive as well just in case Windows crashes. :? How do I save any files from windows and download them to Zorin. My idea is to use Zorin and Windows in tandem until I have got used to Zorin and then Uninstall Windows. One of the things I find is the strange names that Linux uses like Gimp what ever that is. Any help or advice will be gratefully received :?: :oops: . Oh one more question is there any written instructions for downloading for dual boot and installing on PC's

SteveD

Sun Aug 03, 2014 6:37:57 am

I was in the same situation you are but I'm finding the transition to be quite easy. If you have a read of viewtopic.php?f=4&t=7981 it will help with the install. Once you have installed and are running Zorin you will be able to access files, music pictures docs etc, on your windows partition and be able to copy them across to the Zorin partition before you bin windows for good :)

GIMP = Gnu Image Manipulation Program, it's like Paint shop pro for Linux but free, as are most of the programs that you need.

So far I've only found one piece of software that I need for work that I can't get a Linux equivalent for so (on my laptop) I am running windows in Virtual Box (basically running a virtual machine inside Linux) which saves having to reboot every time I want to use it.