This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

First week running Z11Core as only OS installed

sparky

Fri Feb 19, 2016 5:02:58 am

I am impressed. Very impressed!

I have been dabbling with Linux for several years now, mostly booting up different live distros and playing around. I am a big fan of Puppy Linux and have had it running for weeks in memory. I once installed Mandrake on an old K7 rig from the free discs that came in a Linux magazine years ago. That's what first sparked my interest.

Two weeks ago I started having a lot of problems with Vista. Bad pool header blue screens, constant drive thrashing, general sluggishness, etc and etc. Chrome slapping a big ugly yellow banner on the browser saying that there will be no more browser updates because Vista is no longer supported. Then, I was asked to troubleshoot a new Windows 10 install. I had to go through several tutorials just to get informed on the new stuff. And it was right there that I decided to kick Win to the curb and go 100% Linux. I started going through the new live distros that I had good luck with before, trying them out and making sure everything worked and made notes on likes/dislikes. I settled on Linux Mint Cinnamon and installed it. It ran well but it just didn't grab me right. Zorin was my second choice and I figured I would go all out and install 11 Core. I have installed/uninstalled some stuff, read some help here on the forum and tweaked things a little. I have it looking great for me and am getting comfortable running it. I'm still learning what it can do. The only grumble I have is with the AWN sometimes not showing right, but a simple log out/in fixes it.