This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Release Cycle?

protocol77

Thu Jul 07, 2016 3:37:05 pm

Hi there I am new to Zorin I have been testing it for a few days I have also been testing out other distro's like Linux Lite and Mint MATE but keep coming back to Zorin as it seems a better fit for me being new to Linux and coming from a Windows 7 world

I wanted to ask I have noticed that a lot of other distro's are releasing new versions with the updated LTS of ubuntu out now

How often in Zorin OS updated on the Core LTS versions?

Is there a new future plan to create a new LTS Core edition or will OS 9 remain until it ends support in 2019?

Also one quick question and I know it should be posted in another section of the forum but it saves me making a seperate post

Is there a way to turn of the flipping effect when opening windows? just so it opens without that little flip out effect?
It's not a big deal I was simply curious is all

Thanks for making a great distro It is making my dipping of my toe into the linux world a much easier thing to handle than past attempts

svx-biker

Thu Jul 07, 2016 6:18:35 pm

Have you checked the various threads that talk about Zorin 12 - or better ask about information?

The problem is that the latest Ubuntu base is not as stable as it should be and therefore it might take a bit longer. That said you can still continue to use Zorin 11 until the LTS version arrives. Upgrading to a new Linux release is generally quite easy.