This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Well Thanks A Lot

BubbaBlues

Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:33:24 am

Thanks a lot for ruining my Linux experience! I've been using Linux for about six years now. I've always been mostly a KDE
person. I could stand gnome 2 ok but it just didn't do it for me like kde, so I always reverted back. Then gnome 3 came out and
I couldn't even imagine how anyone would actually want something so crappy as that. Mint KDE has been my choice for a couple
of years because nothing else even came close to that quality in my opinion. However I always enjoyed trying different distros
(on a second hdd) trying to find something that might be as good as Mint, but I'd only keep them a short time, then try something
else. Then I installed ZorinOS 6 and started looking for the little faults that would bug me enough to replace it with something else.
Well it's still here and I still can't find anything I don't like about it. I removed the bottom panel and put the AWN bar in it's place knowing
that these docks are usually kind of buggy, but it works flawlessly. However, I never liked having a panel at the top of my screen, but
I needed it for the menu and system tray. Maybe that would eventually bug me enough to get rid of it. Then I discovered that I
could add the menu and system tray to the awn dock and still everything works perfectly and I no longer need the top panel at
all. Well I decided to boot back into Mint for a while and started discovering all of the things that bug me about it and how it no
longer has the appeal that it used to. In fact, ZorinOS 6 has set the bar so high that I can no longer find any other distro that even
comes close. I've tried at least fifty distros over the last five years and have never seen one yet that is as stable, versatile, user friendly,