This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

New Forum User

rickwillson

Sat Nov 03, 2012 4:35:00 am

Hi All,
I am a new forum user. My name is Rick. I am from Oregon, USA. I have never used Zorin, but thinking strongly about giving it a try. I am a computer tech, have been for 20 or so years.
I have basically only used Windows, except for Linspire for a short time. I know that Unix and Linux are both very good and very powerful OS's. But, I really dont remember very many DOS commands, and I know none of the commands in either Unix or Linux. But I am a good learner :D
Anyway, I am just saying hi and hope to have some fun with the Zorin OS
Thank you for letting me join.
Rick

jymm

Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:17:17 am

Hi Rick. I am from Wisconsin. I wouldn't worry to much about not knowing the commands for now. I came to Zorin from Windows and seldom even need the command line. I know it is very powerful if you want to use it, but Zorin really is easy, and with Ubuntu tweaks, software center/ Synaptic and the system update yo don't need the command line all that much. I found a good place to start is DistroWatch, under package management. They have a cheat sheet that is very helpful. From there it is easy to look up commands.

http://distrowatch.com/dwres.php?resour ... management

Also if you just look on the internet you can find commands. Debian, Ubuntu and Zorin all share a common base.

http://www.debianhelp.co.uk/commands.htm

Last, the moderators here are great, best in Linux land. Read the tutorials. I wanted Open Office instead of Libre Office and with help from here was able to download, extract and move the program to the right directories so that I can now use the program.

Good luck and have fun. Zorin is great.

rickwillson

Fri Nov 09, 2012 4:58:12 am