This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Netrunner looks on Zorin install?

jeam

Thu May 16, 2013 4:27:21 pm

Hi, I'm fairly new to Zorin and have posted only a few times here. I'm still exploring a switch (from Windows) to Zorin OS fulltime, but I haven't been totally thrilled with what I can only describe as the "grainy" or "powdery" look of the taskbar, windows, and other graphical elements. Sorry, I don't have the technical vocabulary to pinpoint the problem, all I can say is that what I see on the screen just isn't as smooth and sharp as what I get on Windows Vista or even 7. (This is something I've noticed with every Linux distro I've tried, except for the one I discuss in the next paragraph.) Since I spend a lot of time at the computer, it's important to me to have something that's visually appealing.

The other day I learned of another Linux distribution, Netrunner (12.12), which does offer the sharp graphics that I'm looking for. The taskbar, the windows, even the text elements all look highly refined. OTOH, Netrunner is a step back from the Windows-like workings of Zorin OS, which as a newcomer to Linux is what I find most attractive about it.

So what I'd like to know is this: is there any way to "marry" the Windows look-and-feel of Zorin OS to the fabulous sharp graphics of Netrunner? Ideally, I would like to get Netrunner-level visual smoothness within Zorin.

Thank you in advance for any ideas or insights about this.

Wolfman

Thu May 16, 2013 6:05:11 pm

Hi,

interesting observations, could you supply more details of your system, do you have an ATI or Nvidia graphics card, have you installed said drivers??. RAM and CPU would help too!.

For Nvidia graphic cards, please see this link:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2490