This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Zorin as a destination for Windows XP users

jojothehobo

Sun Mar 16, 2014 5:51:59 pm

Hi All:
I just posted the message below to the IT World online newsletter as a comment on their recommendation of some Linux distro for XP displaced persons. I plugged Zorin and think welcoming XP users might be useful to our community. I'm curious what other group members think. Did I overstate things, or understate them, or leave stuff out? :?:
Thanks
Jojo

My posting.

I've been using Zorin for nearly two years now. It is based on Ubuntu but without all the experimenting with new "universal" GUI's for computers, phones, tablets and who knows what else. I prefer Zorin to Ubuntu because it uses the same repositories and has one or two of its' own, and has a clean, PC friendly interface and outstanding forum support.

Users who switch to Linux will be pleasantly surprised. Linux software has caught up with Windows software in capabilities (exceptions, enterprise capabilities and industrial software for design and production), has much fewer security problems,updates the entire set of packages in one click (you don't have to check with two dozen software vendors) and, for total no hassle, non geek, users, has a program called CrossoverOffice that costs $50 that allows you to run a large swath of Office (2010, 2007 etc) Game, Adobe and other software directly on Linux). For individuals and small groups Linux is actually better and more predictable. My Zorin 6 Ultimate (running on a four year old machine), with Crossover and some high level open source software, boots and shuts down faster than my Windows 7 Ultimate running on an Intel Core I7 with 8Gb Ram.
Check it out, you can always go back, but I doubt you will.

Swarfendor437

Sun Mar 16, 2014 8:34:21 pm