This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

How hard would it be for Zorin to move away from Ubuntu?

Wolfgang02

Tue Apr 22, 2014 7:46:13 am

I have a question, as a new person to Linux and with limited knowledge of Zorin and how it was developed.

If Zorin is "built" on Ubuntu and Deb. then how hard would it be to ditch Ubuntu if Zorin had to?

Swarfendor437

Tue Apr 22, 2014 9:12:22 am

I am no Developer or script writer - but see my comments on SolydXK here:

viewtopic.php?f=12&t=7013&p=33739#p33739

Wolfgang02

Tue Apr 22, 2014 1:43:52 pm

SolydXK seems to think more like me LOL :)

I understand that Windows 2000 and XP had the same kernel and Windows 7 had a different kernel and Windows 8 had a different kernel to Windows 7, XP and 2000.

I understand giving new numbers to OS that have a different kernel but with Ubuntu they seem to have the same kernel but different version numbers.

I personally think Zorin have a stable OS which is user friendly but needs a little more work to make it more user friendly. I also think if they adapted the SolydXK they could achieve that.

The bigger question: Do Linux critics look at the new versions as a new OS and if so could it be a marketing ploy to have new numbers? For instance, would Linux Critics view Zorin 8 too old in say 10 years time although updates have been carried out?

Swarfendor437

Tue Apr 22, 2014 2:57:51 pm