This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Hello There.

PirateMouse

Fri Sep 14, 2012 9:21:17 pm

Hi.

I've scanned the various forums and really am not sure where else to put this, so I figured "Off-Topic" couldn't hurt and if it needs to be moved around, then I will learn from that.

I recently downloaded and installed Zorin. I have to say, I am impressed by the way it is setup and works. Considering I am a novice to the Linux world, that probably isn't saying much. My last OS was using Pinguy OS and found it sluggish on my PC ( which is an old desktop I've had for a few years )
Anyway, I am slowly wanting to learn Linux ( having been friends with a Unix Admin for years and grown up on DOS / Windows - its time to learn something new - right )

I am just a simple computer user - play a few online games ( would love to try and get my SIMS game for Windows to work on here if possible ) - use Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr and Photobucket. I also use IMs ( MSN IM, Yahoo, Skype, AIM )

Anyway ... I am interested in learning how to do things in terminal. First questions I have are as follows :

1. I would like to figure out how to connect to my desktop when away from home ( say, via my laptop or another computer terminal ) What information would I need and how do I find it? ( I am behind a router )

2. I would like to setup terminal to have a login message ( Like when someone connects, it says "Welcome to .... Please sign in below" and maybe a login message for each user after they login. Is this possible and how do I go about doing so?

3. Going with #2 above, I would like to setup a few user accounts for friends to login and access the system, but restrict to certain areas and parts. How would I go about doing so?