This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Automobile Technology

marx404

Tue Oct 14, 2014 5:21:51 pm

Let's talk about today's (and future) automobile technology. Seems cars are getting more and more technical every day.
I am a Certified Technology Expert for a big car company here is the US. My job consists of getting folks comfortable and functional with all of the new technology on the dash of their vehicles. Some people are quick to take to it, some take a few repeat lessons, some just don't get it at all.

Ford has the Sync system (based on MS software), GM has MyLink (and others) - based on Linux. As I am a Linux/Android user, it is pretty easy in translation, once people understand how it works and what it can do for them.

So, do you see all this technology useful or a hindrance? Is it all too flashy and colorful or should it be toned down? What features do you think should or will be useful in upcoming cars? As much of the software and apps are based on Linux Open Source, do you see it becoming more user- configurable and that said, will it have to become more secure? (Look what Tesla owners are doing to Ubuntu-based dash systems).

Thought this would be a fun topic, what do you think about it all?

Swarfendor437

Tue Oct 14, 2014 8:44:20 pm

It could have been done better in the 50's:

http://watchmovie-online.com/movie/anti ... ealed-full

marx404

Tue Oct 14, 2014 9:42:02 pm

Swarfendor437 wrote:It could have been done better in the 50's:

So, I see alot of anti-gravity articles here. Is there a Delorean involved somewhere in this plan? :-)

Dude

Fri Oct 17, 2014 9:00:25 pm