This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Replace Windows XP with Zorin

CdnGISProf

Fri Oct 21, 2011 3:25:03 am

I am new to Zorin and wish to clarify a few installation steps. I have an older (around 8 years) laptop running Windows XP. I want to replace XP completely with Zorin - no partitioning.
1) Should I install the Core or Lite version? If I install Lite, can I upgrade to Core?
2) Should I completely wipe the hard drive before installation?

Thank you

Wolfman

Fri Oct 21, 2011 7:53:31 am

Hi,

you can let the auto installer take care of the partitioning for you if you want to!. I normally create my own partitions and choose them manually during install and that way; I know exactly what size my parts are!!.

Zorin Lite is very light and I would go for core because there are far more features with it!!.

Regards Wolfman:)

mayze

Wed Oct 26, 2011 5:11:59 pm

Hi I am also new to Linux, and I would really like to install zorin os lite since I don't have enough memory for the zorin core. Here are the specs of my old lap top http://www.amazon.com/Toshiba-Satellite ... B0000DJEGI