This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Installation of software

garthmicro

Sat Feb 13, 2016 10:10:02 pm

Hi, I am brand new to Linux. I would like some specific instructions on how to install software on my Zorin machine. I haven't installed Zorin yet - am presently downloading it. I hope it installs nicely on my older Dell laptop. I expect that somebody has already posted these instructions somewhere.

Swarfendor437

Sun Feb 14, 2016 1:14:32 am

garthmicro wrote:Hi, I am brand new to Linux. I would like some specific instructions on how to install software on my Zorin machine. I haven't installed Zorin yet - am presently downloading it. I hope it installs nicely on my older Dell laptop. I expect that somebody has already posted these instructions somewhere.

Instructions for software installation or installation of OS to Dell 'laptop' [notebook].

Software installation can take place in 4 different ways:

1. Zorin Software Centre [ Menu | Software Center/re] - this is where the mainstream software that you would also find in Ubuntu is referred to for installation - you choose the package from those available in the Software Centre.

2. Synaptic Package Manager [Menu | System Tools | Administration | Synaptic Package Manager] Not sure of what you are looking for? Enter something in the small search bar in the middle near the top of the interface and it will bring you results based on your search term/s. You have to 'check' the box next to the software title by 'right-clicking' and choosing 'Mark for Installation' then clicking on the 'Apply' button option on the Menu at the top. Some applications are reliant on other packages/libraries present and you may be asked if you agree to installing these additional packages - obviously 'Yes' or it won't get installed!