This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

My head is Spinning!!!

Joraan

Thu Dec 22, 2016 3:08:48 am

Hey Guys

Came Across the ZORIN 3 days back...
Pretty impressive as per youtube video.

Never used Linux before so bear with me, I know nothing about LINEX at all.

I tried install creating os 11 and 12 CORE in a Shrink drive D, which is a partition among 3, i.e C, D, E.

So far so good...but I dont see Free space except in flash drive, I tried other sda/..? None gives me option to install.

So my Question is, does Zorin needs to be installed in Primary Drive (which is C, in my case) or it can be installed in Secondary Drive D, E etc, if so then how, again I have very little knowledge about software and stuff..

I have win 10 right now and am sick of this BS updates, taking for ever to get into a page etc. Want Dual boot to be in safe side, just in case....

Much appreciated
Joraan

Swarfendor437

Thu Dec 22, 2016 9:57:10 pm

OK, a little more information please so we can advise accordingly. Thanks.

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=5449

Joraan

Fri Dec 23, 2016 2:58:39 pm

1. Name (Brand) of Computer Tower/System, Notebook Brand and model [Notebook = misnomer of 'Laptop' ;) ]~Toshiba Satellite c855d

2. Amount of available Memory (RAM)~ 4 GB

3. Whether Zorin is the only OS on the computer or dual-boot (e.g. Windows [and which version of Windows!] and Zorin)~Win 10 as of now, Want Dual boot.

4. Hard Drive partitioning.:~

C~97.6 GB
D~44 GB
E~58.5 GB
P~ 97.5 GB (Want to install Zorin here)

5. Graphics card make and model, or Graphics chipset in respect of Notebooks.
~AMD E-450 APU with Radeon
6. Audio chips/Soundcard

7. Wireless Dongle or PCI Card, or Wireless chipset.
~Wireless chipset.

8. Whether you ran Zorin Live first to check it worked before installing.
~It works.