This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Trying to install Zorin 5.0 Core on old HP desktop

jmfletch

Thu Dec 08, 2011 9:01:04 pm

I am new to Zorin and Linux. I have an older HP desktop that was running Windows XP before it crashed (several months ago). At the time I tried to recover the OS but the recovery discs were corrupt. When I heard of Zorin I saw it as a chance to dust off the HP without shelling out bucks for an OS. I am trying to install Zorin as the only OS. I get through most of the installation until it gets to "Ready" than it just sits there. When I checked it did not appear to be connecting to my network. ( It is wired in.) So I tried disconnecting from my router and connecting directly to the modem with the same result. How do I get the system to connect to the network or internet when it is not yet installed??

It is a HP Pavilion a859n AMD Athlon 64processor 512Mb Memory and 160Gb HD

Any help would be appreciated.
Joe

jmfletch

Fri Dec 09, 2011 2:03:28 am

Will try booting live. Wiped all partitions when I installed Zorin. Was 4 partitions now are 2, created during Zorin install. Will post tomorrow on results running live.

jmfletch

Wed Dec 14, 2011 6:09:17 pm