This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

firefox won't connect-SOLVED

gtlacey

Mon Jan 06, 2020 12:55:15 am

Hi, I'm new to Linux. I have made a bootable USB. I have accessed my Windows 7 computer with the OS 15 on a trial basis (not installed on the hard drive). I have been able to connect to my Wi-Fi but Firefox tells me that it can't access any of my attempted websites (Google, Zorin downloads etc).
I went back into the Windows side, installed Firefox and gave it access through my Firewall.
Opened up Zorin but still the same as above-Wi-Fi but no Firefox.
What am I doing wrong?
Thanks for your help
SOLVED

Aravisian

Mon Jan 06, 2020 4:56:40 am

This is a new one.
Could you try the suggestions made on this site:
https://askubuntu.com/questions/1145311 ... ter-update
and let us know if they work?

gtlacey

Mon Jan 06, 2020 6:27:58 am

Thanks so much for the response. I did the following:
Change proxy setting, in about:preferences Network Settings. I tried the options "no proxy", "Auto-detect proxy" and "Use system proxy" (the latter was the default).
In about:config I set the "network.dns.disableIPv6" to TRUE
In about:config I set the "network.dns.disablePrefetch" to TRUE
and then
go to about:profiles
note the name of the current profile
quit Firefox
start Files
control+h to enable viewing of hidden files
go to ~/.cache/mozilla/firefox
rename the current profile folder to xxxx.default.HOLD
restart Firefox

I have also disabled Add-Ons and Refreshed Firefox but still have the same issue-Server Not Found. BTW, it took me about 30 minutes to figure out what "about:" was talking about!! Yes, I'm new.

Thanks again but am I on the right track?

Aravisian

Mon Jan 06, 2020 6:54:00 am

gtlacey wrote:Thanks again but am I on the right track?

Well...no... 'Cuz you didn't get it working.
:D