This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[SOLVED] Wine to work in 15.1 core

IBPeepin2

Thu Jan 30, 2020 2:53:54 am

Installed Zorin 15.1 in a Toshiba laptop with dual boot with windows 10.
Toshiba L555D-S7005, Laptop, CPU AMD Turion(tm) II Dual-Core Mobile M520, 2294 MHz. Memory 3838MB.

Would like to get wine to work ,for I have several programs that I would like to use. Have read quite a few articles about the installation and used synaptic package manager to install wine from the repository. The application menu show that wine is installed but, cannot get it to browse C drive or install any exe file. Would like to know if there is anything else I need to do (any software that needs to be installed ) that would get wine working for me.
Please keep in mind that I am new to zorin and a former WIN user. Not really comfortable yet, with the command line in linux.
Any help appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Aravisian

Thu Jan 30, 2020 8:04:15 am

IBPeepin2 wrote:Please keep in mind that I am new to zorin and a former WIN user. Not really comfortable yet, with the command line in linux.
Any help appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Do you remember your white knuckles when you were first learning to operate a car? And that time before when you were screaming at your dad to not let go of the bike...
In hindsight, it seems so easy.

No better time than now to familiarize yourself with the command line :D
It is very easy. And the CLI is often the most efficient and powerful tool. That it is so lacking for most users in Windows says a lot about where the control is.
So, let's get started.
First, even Linus Torvalds doesn't memorize every CLI command. Experts look them up as often as what you might call "nubes" do.
Open your terminal (ctrl+alt+t) and paste in the following commands: