This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[SOLVED] Install Z5 Core to /dev/sda5 -- how??

cmbcne

Wed Feb 08, 2012 2:00:54 am

Hi all -- especially Wolfman:
I wish to try out Zorin. I have downloaded and burned Z5.2-64bit. The MD5 checks out. I have an Acer notebook that I multiboot Windows 7 and Linux. I've done a number of distros over the last couple of years, so I'm not a complete newbie. I have also researched this problem in this forum before joining so I could post. My configuration is that I have:
/dev/sda1 which is a hidden partition placed there by Acer as a Windows recovery partition.
/dev/sda2 which is the Windows 7 partition
/dev/sda3 /swap
/dev/sda5 / EXT4
/dev/sda6 /home EXT4
In /dev/sda2 (Windows7) I use EasyBCD to control the multibooting.
I wish to install Zorin into /dev/sda5 WITH THE GRUB BEING INSTALLED THERE -- NOT IN THE MBR

In a post Wed Aug 24, 2011 11:39 pm titled: "Help me install Z5 Core in existing ntfs partition", Wolfman responded to the OP with:
1. download gparted and burn it to a CD
2. boot your PC with gparted CD inserted and start gparted
3. delete your existing linux partitions
4. in the empty space that you now have, create an "extended" partition
5. within the extended partition, create a "root "/" a swap (swap has no mount point) and a /home partition (/home)
6. apply changes and let gparted do its thing
7. restart PC with Zorin disk inserted and let it boot fully
8. choose to install Zorin and when it comes to the part about how you wish to install, select "something else" and you can then point the installer to the partitions you just created
9. underneath the window where you can see you partition list is a bar asking you where the bootloader should be installed, it should say something like: