This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Problem installing Zorin 6 Ultimate x64

jkay6969

Wed Jun 27, 2012 4:30:58 pm

Hi all,

I'm a noob when it comes to Linux, I was drawn to the Zorin OS because it has the look and feel of Windows 7 to aid my transition to Linux.

I Donated my 10 Euro's and downloaded the image, I checked the Checksum as directed, I downloaded imgburn and burned the DVD at the lowest setting my drive was compatible with.

I then rebooted my PC and selected boot from USB-DVD as I have an external USB DVD Burner, an LG.

I selected to run the LIVE session. This seemed to work but then stopped after a few minutes on the Zorin loading screen, the white loading circles stopped spinning but nothing further happens. I left it like this for an hour to be sure.

I then selected the second option, Run the LIVE session with reduced graphics. This got further.
I was presented with a info panel explaining that reduced graphics were being used, I clicked OK and another info panel appeared with 4 options, one about configuring graphics (I tried the 2 options but they didn't help), the next option was to allow reduced graphics one time (this started a CLI session but I have no idea what to do there.

I also tried loading the installer and this gets to a gray screen with a white bar at the top of the screen with the network icon, the volume icon, in i icon and a power icon. A info panel for selecting the language appears with English selected but when I try to click Continue nothing happens, it's like my mouse buttons don't work as the continue button stays the same, and nothing else on the screen reacts to mouse clicks meaning I can't continue.