This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[SOLVED] Zorin 6/Mint 13 install questions

flyboy129

Tue Jul 31, 2012 2:54:27 pm

Hello all. I am taking a big dive. I am about to start on my first Computer build, and I'm not installing windows!! I have read reviews, checked youtube, etc, and am still torn between which to choose; Zorin 6 or Linux mint 13 mate. So, I would like to try them both. I am planning on installing a 1TB drive and would like to divide. It between both OS's. I have read on here that Zorin automatically partitions on a new install. So, am I correct that I should install that first, then mint? I apologize if I have overlooked a thread this question was answered in. I am very new to all of this and the terminology can be confusing, so any help is appreciated. Thanks

Wolfman

Tue Jul 31, 2012 4:57:15 pm

Hi,

what you can do is to pre-partition your drive using a patitioning tool called Gparted, you only need one swap partition for your drive for both Zorin and Mint,

For each of the OS'es; you need 1 root ( / forward slash is the mount point for root) and 1 home partition. (/home is the mount point for home) Swap does not need a mount point.

Swap should be double the size of your RAM, for root, I recommend at least 20GB for Zorin and Mint, your home partitions shouldn't be less than 40 gb.

For root and home partitions, choose the EXT4 format.

You can read about partitioning here:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=2601

read the top link first. The other links give you an idea how to install Ubuntu based systems.

You can automate the install with one of the OS'es and tell it to use the whole drive but you will still have to learn how to make your partitions for the 2nd OS.

I hope this makes sense to you.

Swarfs how-to has a few tips but is intended for installing along Windows.