This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Zorin Install Problems

newzoringuy

Wed Aug 08, 2012 8:34:28 pm

Hey everyone. I'm new to Linux, but consider myself far above average when it comes to Windows.

I am attempting to install Zorin on a PC of mine. I had a friend that recommended Crunchbang, so I downloaded it on my Windows laptop, burned the ISO, and installed on a blank harddrive on my tower. The install went fine, but I didn't like Crunchbang. After doing some research, I decided I wanted to try Zorin and Mint. So I downloaded the iso files for both operating systems on my Windows laptop. I burned each to a DVD, but my tower won't boot from either DVD. I thought maybe something went wrong while burning them, so I tried booting with them on my Windows laptop (the live edition) and both discs worked. I am actually using the live Zorin on my Windows laptop right now.

Can someone help me out? When I try to boot from the Zorin or the Mint DVD on my tower, the computer stops booting and says it's in grub rescue mode. Any help would be appreciated.

madvinegar

Wed Aug 08, 2012 8:40:51 pm

First of all make sure that you have downloaded the correct iso, meaning 32bit and 64bit. A 32bit system will not run an 64bit OS DVD.

Secondly you can try creating a live USB instead of a live DVD. Even if your Bios does not support usb booting, follow my guide here

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=2113

newzoringuy

Wed Aug 08, 2012 8:48:15 pm

madvinegar wrote:First of all make sure that you have downloaded the correct iso, meaning 32bit and 64bit. A 32bit system will not run an 64bit OS DVD.

Secondly you can try creating a live USB instead of a live DVD. Even if your Bios does not support usb booting, follow my guide here

http://www.zoringroup.com/forum/viewtop ... f=6&t=2113