This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

(SOLVED) A Crazy install, Fix needed!!

hecktorious

Thu Aug 23, 2012 7:40:16 pm

I have an unusual problem:
First, I`m a Newbee when it comes to Linux. I have been using different Linux distros for the past 8 months. I am presently using a Zorin OS 6, dual boot with windows 7. When I went to install Zorin, I believe it put grub on my secondary hard drive. And I don`t know why it didn`t recognize my primary drive. In the install, it didn`t show the primary hard drive so I just installed it on the drive it suggested (the secondary drive). The thing is, when I would boot up the computer, it would only boot up windows and grub didn`t even pop up. I then opened up the BIOS and found out that I could choose to boot from the secondary drive. Then grub would pop up, then I could choose to boot into Zorin. Doing this worked for a little while, but after configuring the Zorin OS (which to me a couple of days), the Zorin OS now won`t boot past the login screen. It just kind of hangs and does nothing. I am running a Dell Studio 9100 with Windows & 64 bit A brand new PC. I did install the 64 bit version of Zorin OS. Do you have any thoughts on how I can fix this? I would prefer to keep windows, only because it was installed on the machine when I bought it. But I really do like the customization Linux distros(in this case Zorn). Any thoughts would be helpful... I really don`t know what`s going on. Thanks!!

Wolfman

Thu Aug 23, 2012 9:24:11 pm

Hi,

try using "Boot Repair" to sort out your problem, make sure that it installs the Grub menu to your first partition:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1895

Regards Wolfman :D

hecktorious

Fri Aug 24, 2012 4:57:08 am