This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[SOLVED] Zorin not starting unless USB is in

alexd51

Tue Sep 11, 2012 2:37:37 pm

First im a total newbie and all the terms in here are just a bit overwhelming . I have always been a Win user and i tried Ubuntu years ago and only lasted a week on my system because the learning curve was way to steep for me at the time. Now i find Zorin and i think its my time to try again.i installed or tried to install win7 but every time it failed because of bad clusters on the HD so i tried Ubuntu first and it worked fine then i found zorin and wanted to test it so i installed telling zorin to delete all partitions and install as only OS
so i installed Zorin onto a usb(using Universal-USB-Installer-1.9.1.0) and when it first booted the system i chose to install , all went well it installed no problem or errors, so after playing with zorin for a while i shutdown the machine and all was fine , next day i turn the computer on and all it did was go to a command prompt sort of just a _ blinking but nothing else ever happened , so i turned the machine off and started it again and this time i hit F9 to chose were i wanted to boot from and i chose the USB were zorin is and the machine booted fine next time i rebooted the machine same problem. Booting from the usb gives me Grub with some options like:

zorin with Linux 3.2.0.24 generic-pae
' ' ' ' ' ' ' ' ' (recovery mode)
memory test (memtest86+)
memory test ( memtest86+ serial console 115200)

i chose the first option and all is fine but if the USB is not present on the machine i only get the blinking prompt and nothing else??? what did i do wrong?
BTW Im using a Compaq mini 110c
1gig mem
250gig HD with some bad sectors
Intel Atom

madvinegar

Tue Sep 11, 2012 3:45:55 pm