This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Secure boot, case study

Hondablack

Sun Dec 16, 2012 8:48:08 pm

Hi, Newbie here, first post ! Thanks for having me.
I have a story to tell, which might interest a few. Bit of a cautionary tale really, anyway, here goes..
A few days ago I thought I would treat myself to a new laptop . After all Xmas is almost upon us and I had this vague notion of putting together a dual boot system with a view to having a play with Linux , which I have never had the time to do before.
So off I goes, purchases a nice Samsung 350 i5 , just the job ! I had heard bad reports of Windows 8 but actually it is pretty slick, especially if you install " classic shell ". Gives you back the start button and traditional functions, including the shut down in the right place. Not knocking the tile screen, just a bit too' tablet' for a laptop, or desk top .
Anyway so far , so good. Then I read in Micro Mart that Zorin 6.1 is a good option as an introduction to Linux.
OK, well I download, burn iso and in a little while , I am looking at a disc boot of Zorin. Very nice methinks I'll have some of this. Well admittedly I did have a bit of head scratching to do but I managed to switch off secure boot and created the new partition and booted up into my nice new shiny Zorin installation. Wow ! Custom menu options and all. Better check Windows.... Gone..... oh no, what had I done ! My new laptop. Doh.
Tuns out I should have done my research, Hindsight is a wonderful thing.
So there I was, doing some real heavy learning. I learnt all about the master boot record. All about Grub and Grub2. Thank the lord for the internet.
So you have to restore the mbr on disc0. I used, what someone recommended . " The Ultimate Boot CD "