This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

New to Zorin & Install Troubles

Bill Thompson

Tue Mar 26, 2013 6:28:13 am

Hi,

I am new to Zorin, and after being an xp user forever, then learning that to go to 8 means i lose everything, well it wasn't hard to see this was my opportunity to release the chains of Bill Gates & Co. that hold users down in endless "unimplemented features" with 8 digit codes that always lead to a KB something or other article, and a download to implement this "feature."

I still have my XP on my main drive in the computer, a Western Digital 500 GB.

My installation is being done on a Western Digital 160 GB via usb 2.0 connection. It is in an old IDE case I have, 133.

Zorin is the only partition running on the hard drive, as I wanted to see how it would run alone and with some space to try some older windows apps that I hear will run via wine in many cases. The game Tera I hear hasn't been solved yet but I am hoping that happens soon, and, since their game is free, maybe something between Zorin and En Masse could happen to package Tera on the gaming systems -- wishful thinking I know.

CPU: AMD 8120 (8 core)

Graphics Card: Nvidia 460 with 2 gb of DDR5

RAM: 8 gigabytes of Mushkin 1333 I think is the normal speed, I have it set to 1600.

I am gonna type in some of the error message in the bottom pane of the installer (I don't know how to copy and paste it, or if I can) and hope one of you Linux, Ubuntu, and of course Zorin specific experts can give me an idea what's happening, as it happens when the "creating user" bar is showing on the installer approximately 20% done, and the installer never finishes:

This is the first one that seems to happen a few time, the numbers "18:20," the 18 increments by 10 as it posts over and over: