This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

installation help Zorin os core

Yatra

Wed Mar 27, 2013 1:14:16 am

I need help installing Zorin OS 6.2 Core to Fujitsu i5 laptop windows 7, purchased August 2012. I downloaded Zorin OS 6.2 Core, standard desktop version of Zorin OS, from www.zorin-os.com. I burned Zorin download to DVD using ImgBurn, per Zorin instruction. I changed setting in F12 to boot from a DVD. With burned DVD in drive, I restarted computer and got the following message: "please put bootable CD/DVD. Any advice? Any simple instructions? I am not IT technical. Thanks, Yatra

Bill Thompson

Wed Mar 27, 2013 3:24:37 am

Hi!

I am no expert, don't work for Zorin, and only got mine installed yesterday, but many here helped me with getting mine running, so while it is fresh in my mind I hope I can be of assistance and am sure one of them will correct me if I am wrong on any part of this too:

1. Burn the DVD on the slowest speed or it corrupts. Try that to see if this fixes your problem. The following are a few other pointers that helped me get installed....

2. When you get the cd to boot, choose "live mode" from the menu. Zorin will boot up and have an installer on the Desktop, use that to install. it will ask you for a user name, make sure not to use capital letters (it's a GNU/Linux thing). Additionally, an option will be given at the bottom of that pane to encrypt your home folder. Do not do this either and your install should go smoothly, mine did.