This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[SOLVED] Installation Problems-Freezing

PolosElite23

Wed Apr 10, 2013 10:50:46 pm

Hello,

I'm relatively new to linux (I'm trying to replace XP on one of my PC's) and I'm not getting anywere with installation.

I have a Dell Dimensions 4600 with as follows:
CPU: Intel Pentium 4
RAM: 3GB
Graphics Card: Radeon X800
Two hard Drives: 100GB and 500GB respectively

I've tried multiple times to put on Zorin OS 6.2 Core (32bit) and Lite without success. I've checked the MD5 sums on both and they are not corrupt. The disks passed verification on Imgburn so i don't think that is the problem either.

On boot it boots into a screen with Live Boot, Live w/ Safe Graphics, Direct Install, ect. none of which have worked. I get past the screen into a screen with the zorin logo and a little loading circle. After a little bit of time the circle stops spinning, nothing happened after several hours of waiting. On other occasions it just kept rotating when it did this i left it overnight with no change in the morning.

No error codes, no nothing it just freezes. I'm unsure of how to proceed in installation of this. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

If you need more computer specs or information just ask.

Thanks for you're time,
PolosElite23

madvinegar

Thu Apr 11, 2013 6:25:40 am

Try this.
When you get to the "options screen" press tab.
A command line will appear that will end in a phrase "quiet splash --"
Navigate to the end of this command line using the arrow keys and type the word "nomodeset" (without the quotes) before the "quiet splash --".

So it becomes like this
nomodeset quiet splash

Press ctrl+X to continue booting.

Wolfman

Fri Apr 12, 2013 6:58:00 am

Hi,