This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[MOVED] Install Crashed

loseyateefa

Sat Feb 08, 2014 2:11:57 pm

Total newbie to anything other than Windows. Dell Laptop Inspiron E1505. Windows XP professional. dont remember how much RAM or the graphics card info. purchased the OS8 DVD. booted from DVD drive and it seemed to look OK. clicked the Install icon and chose to leave XP in place... the partitioning between Zorin/Windows failed, so i tried again using the Replace the Windows XP system. that also failed and then it said i have no operating system detected and do i want to install Zorin OS8. it said it would erase the entire disc but that was OK with me. the installation began over 30 minutes ago and i got to the "Who Are You?" Screen and input all my data with the checkmarks beside them and clicked CONTINUE. the screen image has never changed but it won't minimize or go BACK. The CONTINUE button is still bright blue and the drive keeps making little random noises. It seems hung up and i don't know if i should kill it or just leave it be for awhile. Also on the first partition failure, the error reporting also failed because it said it wasnt even a Zorin product! i have a registration number, but i haven't registered it yet. not sure how i even do that/ on the website or inside the software?
any advice would be great.

loseyateefa

Sat Feb 08, 2014 2:29:26 pm