This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Problems Installing Zorin 8 on Compaq Presario R3000

fstrickland

Sun Apr 27, 2014 4:39:41 am

Good evening everyone,

I have some experience with Solaris 8, Solaris 10, OpenSuse, and Zorin 8. All of these experiences come from non-laptops. I am trying to install Zorin 8 on a laptop.

After installing the software, the last prompt wanted me to reboot. I selected that option, but nothing happen. After a long period of sitting, I decided to shut down the laptop. When I turned on the laptop, an error message about low graphics appeared. From reading numerous posts, the solution appears to be the need to install some software. In order to do this, I need to have Internet access. Again, from reading numerous posts I discovered that the lines about using the wired connection are missing. I tried to use vi to edit /etc/network/interfaces file. Even with sudo as the prefix command, I could not save my changes. I tried to use vim, but this editor would not open. In regular access, the reply was a list of packages that contain "vim." With sudo prefix, the command could not be found (sudo vim /etc/network/interfaces).

What am I missing in my troubleshooting efforts? Or is this a bad idea for attempting to install Zorin on a laptop?

Thank you,

Fred

Wolfman

Sun Apr 27, 2014 5:28:59 am

Hi Fred,

go here:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=2247

and do the part about running "DPKG" (A NETWORK CABLE IS REQUIRED!).

Restart per the instructions with Ctrl + Alt + Del, DON'T CLICK ON RESUME!.

For your specs, I would use Zorin 8 Lite and not the normal Zorin 8 as Zorin 8 might be too heavy for that PC?.

http://distrowatch.com/?newsid=08375

fstrickland

Mon Apr 28, 2014 5:04:36 am

Good evening,