This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Cant Install, USB ports stop working

jtkirby

Wed Jun 04, 2014 2:15:12 pm

Hello,
I looked through the forum and did a search and cant seem to find my issue. I am new to Linux and need to start getting used to it for school. I have tried to install Zorin OS 8 and Fedora 20 and neither seem to want to work. My keyboard/mouse (well all my 2.0 and 3.0 USB ports) stop working as soon as the system loads up to the install screen and the same thing happens when I try to go to the live versions. I have downloaded the kernels from the respective sites and then tried it on a thumb drive and cd with the same problem. My computer is new and here are the specs:

Motherboard: ASUS Maximus VI Formula
CPU: Intel Core I5-4670K CPU 3.4GHz
Memory: 16.0 GB
OS: 64 bit Windows 7 Professional (which is installed on my SSD but trying to install Linux on a separate HDD)
Graphics: Sapphire 100352-3L Radeon HD 7950 3GB 384 bit GDDR5

Please keep in mind that I am Brand New to Linux and most likely don't know the slang but will try anything ya'll have in mind.

Thanks,
Kirby

Swarfendor437

Wed Jun 04, 2014 7:58:40 pm

Well, the simplest thing to do would be to remove the SSD, install Zorin to the other drive, then reinstall the SSD drive - then on next boot, enter the BIOS to make your drive with Zorin on to boot first - hopefully it will pick up your SSD with Windows 7 on it and add it to the GRUB boot menu - keep the Zorin Drive as the default one to boot off, then if you want Windows 7 to boot first from the GRUB menu, follow Wolfman's links to guide here:

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=5938&p=28452&hilit=Changing+Boot+Order#p28452 :D

Welcome to Zorin by the way! :D

jtkirby

Wed Jun 04, 2014 9:34:23 pm