This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

New Computer and the OS

Lights

Mon Dec 07, 2015 2:44:49 am

Okay, so I am building a computer and the case does not have a DVD drive. So I am looking for ways to install an OS, which has led me here.

I know I can install the OS onto a flash drive then plug it into a USB plug. I wish the FAQs would clarify further, so here I am. Will it work on a hard drive that has never had an OS?

To expand on some details I guess:
No, I have never built a computer before, this is my first.
No, I have never installed an OS before.
I bought my laptop with the OS (Windows 7, upgraded to Windows 10) on it.
My case does not have a DVD drive.
My case does have two USB ports.
I have an ITX motherboard and Intel CPU. (Does that matter? From browsing a bit on the forums it seems that does matter.)
The hard drive is new and does not have an OS on it.

I want to know if the USB option is still ... well, an option in my case.

Thanks for anyone who provides an answer.

mdiemer

Mon Dec 07, 2015 5:44:01 pm

I am by no means an expert, but if you check out the help on the Zorin page, you should be fine. I have installed Linux and Windows on many hard drives. It's very easy. Just be careful to follow the instructions. I have never used a USB drive, always use DVDs, since I always have some laying around. You just boot the system with the DVD or USB in place, go into the computer's boot menu (F8 on my computer), choose to boot from the DVD/USB, and follow the instructions. Installing on a clean drive is super easy, as there is nothing else on it to worry about. Just accept all the defaults and you should be fine.

Swarfendor437

Mon Dec 07, 2015 9:32:09 pm