This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Getting a black screen when trying to install Zorin OS

Meowstic

Mon Jan 25, 2016 12:16:35 pm

Hello,

first of all keep in mind that im totally new to Zorin OS and all that Linux stuff so i want a step by step solution
So when im trying to install Zorin OS when i select the Install Zorin OS option all i get is a black screen
Then i tried the nomodset option and now i can see a Zorin OS Loading screen
But then it turns into a black Zorin OS loading screen
after 4 seconds that OK turns into red text and the screen goes completely black, i can't really see what that red text says because this is a half a second moment
Sorry if my English aren't good, im from Greece so let me know if you didn't understand what i said i wll try to give you a better explanation
Thank you very much, have a nice day.

Swarfendor437

Mon Jan 25, 2016 1:02:35 pm

Hi, and Καλώς όρισες!

Please provide us with more information:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=5449

Meowstic

Mon Jan 25, 2016 6:13:41 pm

Swarfendor437 wrote:Hi, and Καλώς όρισες!

Please provide us with more information:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=5449

Hello and thank you for replying!
Here is the information you asked for:
Laptop model: Lenovo G780
Ram: 4 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
The hard drive is completely empty with only one partition
GPU: NVDIA GeForce GT 635M
Audio Chip: Don't know but if its that important i can install Windows to tell you
Wireless Dongle or PCI Card, or Wireless chipset: Don't know but if its that important i can install Windows to tell you
Yes i did tried to boot Zorin from the DVD and i got the same result
Zorin version: Zorin OS 9

Swarfendor437

Mon Jan 25, 2016 8:50:24 pm

You could try a "text-based" installation as outlined by decalman's great instructions here - but no guarantees!: