This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

core versus lite on my system

sovre

Thu Apr 21, 2016 6:20:26 am

I am just getting started with Zorin and have a question about the Core install.

First let me say that the hardware I am running on is about 7 years old: it has a Q6600 proc and an AMD Radeon video card bought at the same period.

I first installed Lite. Everything was so fast and snappy that I immediately decided I wanted to start running my system on Zorin. But I read that Core came with more features and software, so I thought I should go with Core for my final install, and that's what I did.

But once I began running Core I noticed a performance hit. Not as snappy. More lag. And a general feeling of clunkiness when opening/closing/moving windows, and so on.

Not knowing why this would be I tried to do some research. One thing I read is that Core is based on Gnome 3 and that this does not play well with AMD video cards. Is this true, and could this be the source of the problems I'm experiencing? Or is my hardware just too old to get good performance running anything but Lite?

I also read that it is possible to install proprietary video drivers but I am not sure how to do this, and I am wondering if it would be worthwhile in my situation? If I could do this, would it be likely to solve the issues I am having?

I'd rather not go back to Lite now, because I've spent the day setting up my system and have already installed a lot of software. So if there is a way to solve this without doing a full system reinstall, I am all ears!

Thanks for your help.

Swarfendor437

Thu Apr 21, 2016 8:25:51 pm