This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[SOLVED] How to install driver - ASUS USB-AC56 wifi dongle

Credible Hulk

Mon May 16, 2016 1:35:19 am

I just installed Zorin 9 Core on a separate partition on my Windows 10 laptop. I use an ASUS wifi dongle so I can connect to my router on the 5 ghz band. I have the driver CD for this dongle and it does have a Linux driver, however since I'm brand new to Linux/Zorin I haven't got the first clue how to install the driver. The user manual is a joke, all it says is "run the install.sh" file. Umm ok - how? I know double-clicking doesn't work for this type of file. I know it can be run from the command line, trouble is I can't figure out the file path.

To make matters worse, the CD isn't recognized by Zorin, so I tried downloading the driver from the ASUS website. So it's here, but again, can't find the file path. I tried researching commands to display the file path, found three different ways to do it - each gives a different result, none of them work to run the sh file. I've also tried to use Synaptic Package Manager (no idea where/how to find the right files) and Software and Updates. It asks for a CD and then tells me I don't have one because it refuses to recognize the driver CD. I configured the File settings to allow a script/text file to run the script when opened, didn't work. I even downloaded GNU emacs to try and run the file from there - nothing, just line after line of gibberish. I even tried using Wine to install the Windows driver but it doesn't appear to be recognized.

So how can I install this driver? Or any driver, going forward?

Swarfendor437

Mon May 16, 2016 8:32:22 pm