This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[SOLVED] Is Zorin OS Ubuntu based or Debian based?

rydberg

Thu Jun 23, 2016 9:43:15 am

I am completely new to Linux. I chose Zorin 9 as my first Linux distro to try on a windows machine. So far I really enjoy using Zorin but I need to rethink a few concepts coming from Windows to Linux it seems.

On Distrowatch Zorin OS is described as based on Ubuntu and Debian. Should I think of Zorin as an Ubuntu distro or a Debian distro, or somehow both? What would be a meaningful distinction or description of Zorin as learn more about Linux, the terminal and install software and so on?

One practical example: I noticed that my laptop overheats so I wanted to install tlp for power management. But note that there are installation instruction for Ubuntu and Debian respectively.
[url]
http://linrunner.de/en/tlp/docs/tlp-lin ... ement.html[/url]

In this particular example which installation instruction should I follow?

I look forward to learn more.

Swarfendor437

Thu Jun 23, 2016 11:51:21 am