This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Lost my Zorin Desktop

usdscbe

Thu Sep 08, 2016 9:42:40 pm

Hi,
This is my first post and I already need your help.

I have been using Zorin Lite OS 6 32 bit for a couple months and enjoy it. I was using Windows XP and got tired of it crashing. Now I have messed up Zorin. I was playing around trying to utilize different looks and I lost my Desktop tool bars and stuff that usually show up on the desktop due to the start menu.

When I go into Applications and find Panel, it all returns but it will not start up with the computer so I have been using "Open with File Manager" via a desktop file. (Thanks to the Zorin Community).
Any idea how to get this back? Please remember that I am new to this so speak very plainly.

Oh yeah, when I try to use Zorin Look Changer, everything disappears again, and I an off looking for Panel in Applications. This is hardly a good solution.

I actually got so frustrated that I tried a new live disk which didn't work due to the SMB/CIFS failed, or something that I really am too new to understand.
So please help me get my default settings back and I will leave the changes to Zorin. Thanks in advance.

Some system Information:
Compaq-Presario
Product Name: KY821AA-ABA CQ5110Y
Manufacturer: Hewlett-Packard
Desktop 32-bit
Socket Designation: Socket AM2
Central Processor
Athlon X2
AMD 7550 Dual-Core Processor
VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2)
Thanks again

Swarfendor437

Fri Sep 09, 2016 11:46:33 am

Hi, try opening a terminal (not sure if Ctrl+ Alt+ T works in Lite) and enter:

Code:
lxpanel

and see if it brings it back? ;) :D

usdscbe

Fri Sep 09, 2016 3:39:19 pm

Thanks, Swarfendor437.
It was NOT loaded, so I loaded lxpanel as terminal suggested.