This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

How to move the Panel to be vertical on the side zorin 12

chamen

Sat Sep 24, 2016 9:44:26 pm

Zorin 12 beta just got released and I haven't yet figured out how to move the panel to the side. Any ideas?

Swarfendor437

Sun Sep 25, 2016 12:09:37 am

Hi, your thread title and content are a bit different - it would appear the only places for the panel at present are either top or bottom as it is no longer AWN as the panel manager. ;) :D

chamen

Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:12:50 am

I had a typo in the body, but you responded to what I meant to ask ;) .

I am new to Linux, but I was told that Linux is very customizable. Is there any way to manually move the panel to the side?

Swarfendor437

Sun Sep 25, 2016 10:42:45 am

No, that has been locked in the Beta. Only been trying it live (64-bit) at moment. Hoping they include Synaptic Package Manager and not just leave it to the Software Manager which has a poor search facility. I also tried to run 'sudo apt-get install' a package to see if it would connect to any repos of Ubuntu but instead it stated I should now use 'sudo apt install'! And still no response - not tried installing a different browser in live mode using the Zorin web browser chooser which I have been able to do in the past. If you can connect to the repo's try opening a terminal (Ctrl+ Alt+ T) and see if you can install Cairo-Dock DE which will give you more versatility in where to place the panel:

Follow this guide here:

https://www.linuxhelp.com/how-to-instal ... in-ubuntu/

crazyporscheman

Mon Sep 26, 2016 6:26:26 pm

Hey Swarf!

Hope you are doing well!