This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Lost Windows 10 boot / part without Zorin installation

Chefboyct

Wed Nov 23, 2016 4:13:13 pm

Hi everyone,

Sorry to bother you mate and I hope I am not being a nuisance as I am a newbie to Ubuntu / Zorin. though I know a few commands there and then.

I have a major problem with I urgently needed help. I have a Windows 10 on the 1 SSD drive on my laptop with 2 parititions (1 for Windows OS and 1 for Files). I then re-sized the File partition to create a 3rd partition (intended for Zorin) but I forgot the fundamental thing that Zorin / Ubuntu needs to sit on MBR (Boot partition).

So I boot into Zorin via USB Disk and got to the stage where it asked me for 3 or 4 options... I clicked on "Other" first and I saw the 3rd partition was not usable (of course). Then I clicked back chose the option with LVM support for easy resizing later. I clicked next. Then The page showed that Zorin / ubuntu has created 2 partition (one for swap and one for main system). I panicked from there so I clicked back to back until the 1st page asking me for language. I then force the laptop to restart (power button). And now my Windows 10 wouldn't boot at all. I used windows 10 rescue disk and tried to repair boot up... aad it didnt work. Then I book into Zorin again and use gparted and it shows mount point is zorin-vg (please see attached). Please let me know what I can do to resolve this so I can get my Windows 10 back and then re-partitition it to install Zorin... Thanks a mil.

Swarfendor437

Wed Nov 23, 2016 6:19:07 pm

Hi, can you get to a command prompt using your 'Repair disc' (Advanced Option under Repair - basing on my Win 7 experience)

Then at command prompt enter:

bootrec.exe /FixBoot

then

bootrec.exe /FixMbr

Keep us posted! :D

Chefboyct