This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[ISSUES] NVIDIA GTX 970 Install

GreenFox

Sat Apr 29, 2017 3:17:11 am

BACKGROUND

Skip to ISSUES if you don't care

I am new to Linux and really want to give this a shot to get away from Microsoft and Windows 10. I've been trying to get this OS set up for 3 days now. After coming home to a dead SSD and a bunch of lost data, I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to make the switch. So right now I'm computerless unless I can get this properly installed. At this point I'm losing hope as well as productivity and it's making be consider just going back to Windows.

ISSUES

I am able to install the OS and boot in fine if I set 'nomodeset'. Once I log in I attempt to install The GTX 970 driver and I've had nothing but problems.

The first time I got the driver installed fine it seemed, but upon rebooting I was unable to login anymore. My credentials didn't work and I got a message that a session could not be started. During the installation it said I had 2 boot managers installed and to pick one. GNOME was one of the options, I picked the other, after researching a bit about it.

The second time I followed different instructions in this thread: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2490 which did not work at all. Booting goes to black screen and using 'nomodeset' doesn't work either anymore, the computer hangs.

The third time I tried following: https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php ... 649&page=2 the instructions are halfway down the page. I also tried similar instructions on another page. Same result. And many other tries.

Does anyone have any real instructions on how to install the driver? I would greatly appreciate it if someone could give me some guidance.

SYSTEM SPECS

EVGA NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970
Intel i7 6700K Skylake
MSI Z170 Mortar

Swarfendor437