This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[MOVED] Software Centre

Bazz

Mon May 29, 2017 5:30:52 am

I have installed zorin os 12.1 but I am unable to install anything from the software centre it says installing but nothing happens even if I leave it for hours. Any ideas anyone? I am new to this and not a tech wiz at 76.

Swarfendor437

Mon May 29, 2017 1:01:00 pm

Hi Bazz and welcome to the Zorin forums!

I had similar issue. First open a terminal (Menu | Utilities | Terminal or Ctrl+ Alt+ T then enter:

Code:
sudo apt-get install synaptic package manager

you will be asked for your login password to elevate you to 'root' (Administrator) in order to install packages - please note you won't see any asterisks so be careful when entering your password - you get 3 attempts before it drops back to $:user. You will be asked to enter 'Y/N' as to whether you want to install the package - obviously we need to press 'Y'. Once installed, and whilst still in the terminal, enter

Code:
sudo synaptic

this will launch the Synaptic Package Manager.

From the Menu search bar, enter 'Software Updater' and when it starts up, click on the 'Cancel' button - when it has settled you will see a 'Settings' button - press that and on the window that opens, select the first Tab and change your locale server for packages to Main Server and apply the change. Now go to this post here:

viewtopic.php?f=12&t=12734#p56543

and search for each of the packages I have listed there - right-click each green box against each of those packages and select 'Mark for reinstallation' - then click on 'Apply' on the Menu bar at the top of Synaptic Package Manager - hopefully this will sort your Software Centre issues out as it did for me. ;) :D

Bazz

Tue May 30, 2017 2:17:51 am

Thanks swarfender437. Tried your suggestion.