This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

OK, be nice....

miamimds

Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:54:10 am

Hello everyone from Miami, FL. I am very new to all this (Message Board, Topic, Posting, heck I don't even have a Face Book account) I have recently purchased my first PC, after owning 18 Apple/Mac products. To say that I was disappointed with Windows 7 Ultimate is to put it mildly. Upon me speaking with the salesman who sold me the Lenovo All-In-One 24" IdeaCentre B-500 and discussing my dis-satisfaction with the OS, he suggested Linux. It never occurred to me that the movement had grown since I first heard about it many years ago. Great job to all those Open Source guys and gals out there! After researching variations of the core Linux foundation, I have decided to go with Zorin. I have successfully downloaded and burned a boot-able ISO DVD. But something is wrong. My screen goes gray and has a blinking cursor for hours after the DVD stops spooling. Even when I try the booting without splash and boot info it then locks up. The last line of code is:

[ 1.239128] mtrr: type mismatch for d0000000,10000000 old: write-back new:wr

you can hear the disk spooling and even an audio singnal that sounds like it should be booting fine, but the screen never changes from that line. I have read reports it may be due to Nvidia Graphics card that is installed in my desktop.

Can anyone help a open minded, frustrated (been at this for 10 hours now), middle aged Miami'an out before I throw this thing of the 33rd floor balcony.... Please?

pantabulosin

Tue Dec 20, 2011 8:05:38 am