This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Few issues and Questions

TraspyAble

Fri Mar 30, 2018 1:44:59 pm

Hi there! Let me introduce myself. I am newbie user of ZorinOS (and his derivatives), I was a games developer working on OS that takes the biggest piece of pie but suddenly I decided to leave it behind and switch to something more secure, less rubbish, more like gold and here it is ! The best OS in my opinion so far and I love using it and spreading the word about it!

Anyway... I come up with few issues while messing around with things.
Messed up Gnome Shell desktop app folders view
If I open/expand folder it shows nothing while there are actually apps in that folder. It was working before I can tell but I am not able to locate where the issue is. Any help will be appreciated.

And I know it might not be good place to ask about it but like I said I am a newbie... :D
Is there any way to achieve "virtual resolutions" like for ex. I have two screens one next to another (1st - max: 1920x1080, 2nd - max: 1650x1050) I want to make 1st - 2560x1440 and 2nd - 1920x1440. On other OS with radeon driver it was possible, I wonder if there is a way to do it by using xrandr command? I tried it but I have no clue how to config that.

Thanks for any replies and help, really appreciated!

Swarfendor437

Sat Mar 31, 2018 6:48:58 pm

Well, I don't use that particular 'Zorin Look' so in order to answer your own question, what had you been doing before it went wrong? What changes/installations did you make to the system? As for xrandr issues I would take a look at the Gnome Shell extension GUI for that:

https://extensions.gnome.org/extension/ ... -monitors/

However I don't know if it supports multi-scaling?

Nearest I could find for your question on scaling was here: