This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Dell Inspiron 1122 Radeon HD6250 drivers

daveomania

Sun Sep 23, 2018 5:34:51 am

I am quite new to Linux, and need some guidance on getting the drivers installed for my graphics with Zorin OS Lite.

The graphics chip shows up under VGA as AMD Radeon HD 6250, but I suspect the drivers aren't correct since video playback is choppy, or freezes all together in Chrome and Firefox (Example, Netflix, or YouTube).

As a comparison, I had Windows 10 Pro x64 installed prior to Zorin OS Lite, and playback was smooth since the load was taken off of the CPU.

When I attempt to use the .deb provided by the AMD's website, the software installer hangs up and never recovers.

Other than that I am not sure exactly how to install the correct drivers.

My apologies if I need to post this in a different sub forum, I will move it if need be.

I appreciate any help you can give me!

zorinantwerp

Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:10:14 am

Hi

AMD's has a reputation for ditching support for even slightly older cards on Linux.

so let's try something different. source is an untrusted ppa.
goto Terminal (Ctrl+Alt+t) and insert (one line at the time)
Code:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:oibaf/graphics-drivers
sudo apt-get update

if it does not work remove
Code:
$ sudo apt-get install ppa-purge
$ sudo ppa-purge ppa:oibaf/graphics-drivers

plse report outcome

daveomania

Sun Sep 23, 2018 10:32:07 am

Thank you for the quick response!

I added the repo and updated from it, and it ended with this error:

"W: GPG error: http://ppa.launchpad.net/i-nex-developm ... ble/ubuntu xenial InRelease: The following signatures couldn't be verified because the public key is not available: NO_PUBKEY 431D3C83F34CDDAD