This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Vacant Main Window - No Programs Menu Seen

Ghreddy

Wed Nov 28, 2018 3:48:43 am

Ignorant Zorin noob here, I'm afraid. I wish to use Zorin as a live bootable OS rather than installing it. In the past, this has worked great (once I lower the resolution so this old man's eyes can read the text). There was an easy-to-find start-type menu for launching system and other applications.

But for some reason I don't understand, that's no longer the case. I made a small contribution and downloaded Zorin-OS-12.4-Core-64, and used Yumi to add it to a multi-boot flash drive. When it booted up, the main desktop window appeared, but I could not find the main menu anywhere at all. If I right-clicked on the desktop, nothing was relevant to the main menu at all. The closes thing was the option to launch a terminal, but I have absolutely no idea if I could start the main menu with it, or what commands might do this, at all.

So I tried going back to Zorin-OS-12.2-Core-64, which is what worked fine in the past. But again for some unknown reason, when I tried it, I also could find no main menu!

Kindly advise this dummy what's going wrong and how I can fix it, because when it was working for me in the past, I totally loved Zorin! Might Yumi be somehow involved in this?

Thanks for your patience with me!

Swarfendor437

Wed Nov 28, 2018 7:36:01 pm

Hi, I gave up on Yumi years ago, especially after I would spend 30 minutes thinking it was creating an .iso image and then got the report "not compatible/not supported"!
Do you see the 'Z' at all on the panel? To launch it in Core you have to use the key combination of Alt+ F1. If you are referring to 'MainMenu' menu editor you may have to install it.

Code:
sudo apt-get install alacarte

Ghreddy

Fri Nov 30, 2018 1:51:08 am