This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[SOLVED] - How do I remove a drive from my boot menu?

hurkeybird

Sun Jun 30, 2019 8:08:26 pm

I'm using Zorin 15 os core dual boot with Windows 10. I have a 2nd Windows 10 hard drive that Windows 10 is corrupted so it will not boot. I have it so I can still access the data files on it. Because it has an OS on it (even though it is not bootable) it shows up in the boot menu. I would like to remove it from the boot menu. Can this be done and if so, how?

I finally got Grub-Customizer installed and was able to remove the extra boot option. Thanks to everyone who helped

Swarfendor437

Sun Jun 30, 2019 8:25:56 pm

By boot Menu is this GRUB?

hurkeybird

Sun Jun 30, 2019 8:30:31 pm

What is GRUB? I'm new to Linux but I would guess you figured that out already. LOL.

hurkeybird

Sun Jun 30, 2019 8:43:27 pm

When I power on my computer it comes to a screen showing several boot options. The top one is Zorin 15 OS core then several other Zorin options, safe mode etc. then two Windows 10 options (with identical descriptions)at the bottom. If I do nothing after a few seconds it boots to the top listing of Zorin. I would like to remove one of the Windows 10 options.

Swarfendor437

Sun Jun 30, 2019 9:40:48 pm

I would advise you use GRUB customizer:

https://ahmedsheme.wordpress.com/2018/0 ... on-ubuntu/

Aravisian

Sun Jun 30, 2019 9:41:34 pm

hurkeybird wrote:When I power on my computer it comes to a screen showing several boot options. The top one is Zorin 15 OS core then several other Zorin options, safe mode etc. then two Windows 10 options (with identical descriptions)at the bottom. If I do nothing after a few seconds it boots to the top listing of Zorin. I would like to remove one of the Windows 10 options.

EDIT: ...Or... Do what Swarfendor said.