This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Zorin OS 15 Core keeps crashing after most recent update

Atlas1819

Fri Nov 01, 2019 7:21:03 pm

Hello everyone!

I am new to Zorin, to Linux in general.
Two days ago I installed Zorin OS 15 Core on my old Samsung laptop. Everything was fine. It worked perfectly.
Yesterday (10/31/2019) I installed an update.
Ever since then Zorin keeps crashing when I go online/ use Firefox. It works maybe for one minute at max and then it just shuts down.

Does anyone else experience any difficulties after the latest update?
Or has any advice on what I could do to solve this problem?

Advice and tips very much appreciated.
Thank you.

Swarfendor437

Fri Nov 01, 2019 7:28:55 pm

Hi, If this is the only OS on the Notebook, hold the left shift key during boot so as to see GRUB (GRand Unified Bootloader) and click on advanced/recovery mode. Choose an earlier kernel - normally keep the last two kernels that were installed prior to any new one. I suspect that the updates are for newer hardware and this could be the cause of the issue. If you boot into earlier kernel on Zorin and everything is fine, boot to the GRUB menu once more and make a note of the newest kernel. Boot into Zorin on earlier kernel, then using Synaptic Package Manager, search for the newer kernel and mark for it's removal and apply the changes. Hopefully you should then get back to a working Zorin installation. Just be sure to backup any critical data before you start playing! ;) :D

Atlas1819

Sat Nov 02, 2019 12:26:01 pm

Thank you so much for the advice.
Will this also work if there is another OS on the laptop?