This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Zorin won't boot or let me open the BIOS

tamashy

Wed Nov 06, 2019 3:22:17 pm

Hi i've been using zorin for a couple months now (since the beginning of summer i belive) with no problems but today my computer won't boot.

If I just let it try to boot i get a black screen with some lighter black in the border (this screen always poped for a couple seconds when i booted).

If i try to open the BIOS or the Boot menu i get this screen Image

On that screen i get 3 options:

1 - I get a black screen saying "Could't get size 0x0000008" (not sure if the number was that)
2 - I can go to the recovery menu but i didnt acomplish anything
3 - It shoes my motherboard splash screen (the one with the prompt to open bios) but goes back to the same screen (no matter what i press)

What is going on?

Swarfendor437

Wed Nov 06, 2019 7:51:47 pm

Is this on a notebook? Could you provide us with more information please?:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=5449

tamashy

Thu Nov 07, 2019 8:28:57 am

Swarfendor437 wrote:Is this on a notebook? Could you provide us with more information please?:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=5449

No, it's a desktop. It had zorin installed on a m2 ssd drive and windows 7 on a regular sata ssd drive. No dual boot, it went directly to zorin unless I went to the bios boot menu.

Anyways, thanks for the reply but i "fixed" it yesterday night. I have no idea what the problem was, but it looks than one problem was than zorin just broke (didn't boot) and another was that for some reason if the zorin drive was the first in boot order i coldn't enter the bios. I removed the zorin drive, boot to the bios, change order, this din't fix zorin system but at least i could boot to windows 7. In the end i just switched to windows 10 on that m2 drive and ditched linux.

Aravisian